Five Most-Read Blog Posts of 2017

wed in central park top 5 posts of 2017

I try to post something on this blog once per week, either some real wedding inspiration, or some general advice pieces that should be useful or interesting to anyone considering getting married in Central Park.  Every now and again I check which posts are proving to be useful to people and try to write more on a similar theme if possible.

Below are my top five posts of 2017. That is to say; the most viewed posts over the course of the year, in fact none of these pieces were posted on the blog in 2017. In fact four out of five of the posts were written in 2014. Anyone who knows me a little bit might spot that this was the year after my first child was born (he was born November 2013) and before I got pregnant, and consequently, very tired, with my second child (he was born September 2015). Throughout 2016 I certainly slowed down with writing content for the blog, a toddler and a baby took up much of my time, but in 2017 I stepped up the social media side of things, to try to reach more clients. I found that I have some great content on my blog that couples were finding very useful, but that I could use all the platforms out there to reach more people.

Another thing that this might show is that I have written all my best advice already and I have nothing left to say.  Although, in my opinion, the advice pieces I have writing more recently are just more specific.  For 2018 I have some beautiful and unique real weddings lined up, along with some more recommendations of where previous clients have dined in New York, advice on New York neighborhoods, music suggestions for your wedding ceremony, and a piece about wedding vow renewals in Central Park.  I would love to hear any suggestions of what other subjects you would like to see me write about in the coming year.

So, this is what my followers have been reading in 2017.

1 Restaurant Recommendations for your Wedding Day
This has been a clear winner for a long time. Written in 2012, so a touch out of date, I wrote about the restaurants that I personally thought would be great places to celebrate in following a wedding in Central Park. I tried to keep in mind all group sizes, including eloping couples. It’s popularity caused me to write More Restaurant Recommendations for your Wedding Day, and a list of where couples who had featured in the blog in 2016 had eaten. I have already written the list of where my clients who married in 2015 ate, and I intend to post that later on in the year.

2 The Top Ten Best Places to Take Wedding Photos in New York
I find that lots of couples want to take advantage of being in the incredibly photogenic city of New York for their wedding day, and take a trip around the city to take lots of photos in their wedding gear. I love this idea, so I wanted to write something with a few suggestions of where people might like to go, whether they get married in Central Park or anywhere else in NYC. I’ll admit that I suggest several places in Central Park for photographs, but it should come as a surprise to nobody that I love Central Park. My second favorite is probably Brooklyn Bridge, even though it’s a bit of a hassle to get to from Central Park.

3 Central Park Marriage Proposal Ideas
I started getting requests from people who wanted some help and advice with proposing to their partner, so I decided to begin offering a service where I help someone to plan their marriage proposal in Central Park, along with suppling a photographer, musician, flowers and many other things that people might want to make the moment special. So, I wrote this blog post to suggest a few ways and locations for a lovely proposal, depending on what people think they would like, and what time of year they’re proposing.

4 Things to do on your Wedding Day in New York City
A big advantage that getting married in New York has over almost anywhere else in the world, is the huge choice of awesome things you can do there. I wrote this list with small parties or eloping couples in mind, since in those cases the wedding might actually take just a short amount of time, so couples might want to fit in other memorable experiences, simply because they can! Some of these suggestions can and have been worked in to a wedding day with a large party. For example, one couple sent their guests on a boozy tour of NYC in a vintage trolley bus while they took photos at the Top of the Rock, and another couple had their reception very close to the Highline, so seized the opportunity to take some photos there for a little while. Making a plan of your wedding day and working out how to fit everything in is part of how I can help couples.

5 Tips for a Winter Wedding in Central Park
This one being so popular is a bit of a surprise. Overwhelmingly, my busiest period for weddings is from May to September, with a quiet period over the Winter. That is true for many weddings, all over the Northern hemisphere. And yet, when I talk to people about a wedding in a crisp, cold, snow-covered Central Park, they get all dreamy! I think many of us all love a Winter wedding, so we may all consider having one ourselves. I would love to get more clients requesting a Winter wedding – not least because I love the photos!

For more information to help you with planning your own Central Park wedding, visit our website, or “like” us on Facebook, follow us on Instagram and follow us on Pinterest where you will find lots of lovely photos and many more inspiring stories of real weddings. I would love to hear any suggestions of what other subjects you would like to see me write about in the coming year, please comment below if you have any ideas.

This entry was posted in Central Park, New York, real wedding, Uncategorized, Weddings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Five Most-Read Blog Posts of 2017

  1. Jen Morrow says:

    Great top 5! The Winter wedding and photography tips are my favorites.

  2. ellenbest24 says:

    Oh it made me want to do it all again… with the same man of course. Happy new year.

  3. As a person who got married in a courthouse, I love to read your blog. Such beautiful ideas and places. Happy New Year!

  4. As the Mother of the Bride recently I always enjoy reading your posts about a very different style of wedding. All the best!

  5. It’s always interesting to see what your most viewed posts are 🙂

  6. I love those proposal ideas – so magical!

  7. arv! says:

    These are deserving posts! I’m hoping your post in 2018 hit even higher numbers!

  8. Lisa Orchard says:

    Great top five! I can see why readers were interested in them!

  9. Suzanne [globalhousesitterX2] says:

    There is something about a wedding that just makes me smile and feel somewhat happy 🙂 As a child us kids used to ride our bikes to the local church and stand there waiting for the bride and groom to exit the church. The highlight of our Saturday for a while 🙂 Lovely post.

  10. emfletche says:

    If I were to marry Mr Fletche all over again then I may well want to do it in New York…

  11. josypheen says:

    Happy New year!! What a brilliant selection of top posts for the year!! 😀

  12. These are all really great articles. I love when you give advice on what to see and do in NYC.

  13. Pingback: Five Most-Read Blog Posts of 2018 | Weddings in Central Park, New York

  14. Pingback: My Top Five Blog Posts of 2019 | Weddings in Central Park, New York

Leave a comment